Summer reading

A-
A-

This book has been sitting on the shelves of Borders for at least 2 years. I finally got to read it this summer thanks to the Arcadia public library. Who can afford books these days? Books cost at least $12.95 each. I feel like this discourages people from reading. But I digress.

Anyway, I liked this story a lot. A friend described it as being hard to comprehend, but it is written through the eyes of an autistic teen. The simplicity of Christopher (main character) and his way of thinking is refreshing and entertaining. I docked points from this book because towards the end of the book his trip to London is somewhat drawn out and boring. The ending is sad. But its the oh so good, realistic kind of sad that I love.

A-/B+

A-/B+

Murakami is one of my favorite authors. I’d say this book was not unlike his others. It has you curious and hooked after the first couple pages, but when you’re finally finished with the book, you’re still left wondering, “what the hell just happened?”

I’d say this one was especially frustrating in that sense because he pulls the jumping from one character to the next between each chapter so you’re left guessing throughout the entire book. Still a good read though.

This cover is the one that was published in England. I think it looks a lot cooler than the cover used in the states.

A

A

This one was introduced to me by my sister, and I loved it.

It’s written in the format of a journal, which is a style I’ve always enjoyed. The author shares her drawings and photographs on every page, with a bit of writing to go with them. I almost think of it as an adult picture book.

Kalman has a funny, child-like but witty at the same time style of writing. I just found out she runs a blog in the NYT.

C+

C+

The only other Hornby book I’ve read is A Long Way Down. I didn’t like it and I don’t think I ever finished it.

I decided to give this one a try. After all, he’s famous and a lot of people like his books. He also wrote About a Boy which was a good movie, and Fever Pitch which was complete crap.

So as you can see, I gave this book a mediocre grade. I think because that’s how I felt the whole time I was reading it. Nothing really happens throughout the entire thing. It’s just one long plateau of nothing with a touch of depressing observation on marriage and life.

Leave a comment

Filed under Please Wead

Leave a Reply

