Books to read

“You, Me and Everyone We Know” is a film by Miranda July, and my first exposure to her work. Miranda July
Miranda July

This book has a bunch of short stories. The first one is my favorite because its written beautifully. My sister said Miranda July has a distinct voice in all her work, and I was able to detect it especially in this first story. She has this one quote that I liked:

I was still happy to sit there beside him, but that is only because I have very very low expectations of most people, and he had now become most people.

Nick Hornby
Nick Hornby

So, this is my third attempt at a Hornby book and I’m happy to announce that I actually liked this one. I have the book cover used in England because once again, the English get the nicer looking book jacket in my opinion.

This book is basically about a 16 year old skater who idolizes Tony Hawk, and how he gets his ex-gf pregnant. I feel like Nick Hornby likes to drag out the plot throughout his books and it becomes repetitive. He does that in this one too. After awhile, I felt like “Yeah, I got it. It sucks to have a baby at 16.” But I liked the references to pop culture, and also I just happen to like stories that take place in England. I think this book is definitely a beach read but it’s entertaining all the same.

Leave a comment

Filed under Please Wead

Leave a Reply

