Julienne likes: red velvet cupcakes

me want eat you

me want eat you

Since its been raining and gloomy this weekend, cupcakes sounded like the perfect pick-me-up. My sister took me to Violet’s Cakes in Pasadena where we got two of our favorite cake flavor: red velvet. It took me about 3 minutes tops to finish off my cake, as I licked off the remaining pink sprinkles off my fingers. It was like a cream cheese, chocolate shaving covered piece of heaven. (I don’t care if that makes me sound obese, it’s true).

I’ve discovered that cream cheese frosting is the perfect complement to rich, dark red velvet cupcakes. There’s another bakery, Lulu’s Bake Shoppe in the north end of Boston, that also sells the best little red velvet cupcakes, but they use vanilla frosting on top and I have to say, it just doesn’t quite cut it compared to the cream cheese. It’s so good, it tingles in your mouth from the first bite. The chocolate shavings are just big enough to leave a lasting impression, and the pink sprinkles add a nice sugary crunch at the end.

I didn’t try any of the other cupcakes, since stuffing one in my face after having McDonald’s for lunch probably did enough damage today. But the chocolate one with peanut butter frosting and a pink heart on top looked pretty good (called Elvis), and the strawberry shortcake did too.

Side note: Red velvet isn’t actually made of anything special, like cherries and dark chocolate or anything. It’s simply regular yellow cake that has added food coloring. At least that’s what I’ve been finding out through some research. Tell me if you know otherwise, because it’s a pretty disappointing fact!

Violet’s Cakes
21 East Holly St.
Pasadena, CA 91103
(626) 395 9821

Lulu’s Bake Shoppe
227 Hanover Street
(between Board Aly & Cross St)
Boston, MA 02113
(617) 720-2200

Leave a comment

Filed under Scrumptious

Leave a Reply

