La Noche de la Fusión

Last weekend I went to an opening Gary Baseman show, carnival style…

picture-11There’s my little monkey balloon checking out a painting, the hacky sack game, the burning your fears booth, (Eric drew a fire extinguisher -_-) and some pieces from the gallery including a Gary Baseman shrine. Pretty awesome.

Some characters come to life! In a borderline scandalous way…

picture-2The gallery segment of the show was awesome, and I liked the free prizes you got from playing the games. Gary Baseman jumped onto the game booth while I was doing the ring toss, and the guy next to me threw his ring onto Baseman’s arm. I shot my picture right after.

I felt like the carnival segment was a little bizarre, and of course you have rich people in the crowd who have never heard of him, but are willing to dish out a simple $6000 for a painting.

If there’s this much hype about it, it must be worth something!

Other than that, not a bad event. Pretty lively for an art show.

Corey Helford Gallery
8522 Washington Blvd.
Culver City, CA 90232

Leave a comment

Filed under Come out and play, How creative

Leave a Reply

