haruki murakami again

What I Talk About When I Talk About Running…

Picture 3 13-17-08Another book by my favorite author. This one was literally about what he thinks about when he’s running. It was kind of written in a diary style but not in a lame way. This was a good read because it felt more personal,  and you got a look into Murakami as a person. He talks about his personality, and how oftentimes he’s not a very sociable person, and that most people are disappointed when they meet him. He has a place in Cambridge, MA and trains by the Charles River. He mentions seeing BU and Harvard students tanning and running by the river. (I love references to my school!) Also it’s exciting to think that while I was hanging out on BU beach, he might have been running by the Charles. Had I known earlier that he trained there, I would have tried to stalk him. He also runs in the Boston marathon which I’ve gone to watch for the past 3 years.

Some thoughts of his I liked…

The end of the race is just a temporary marker without much significance. It’s the same with our lives. Just because there’s an end doesn’t mean existence has meaning. An end point is simply set up as a temporary marker, or perhaps as an indirect metaphor for the fleeting nature of existence.

In the Boston area every summer there are a few days so unpleasant you feel like cursing everything in sight.

I know that if I hadn’t become a long distance runner when I became a novelist, my work would have been vastly different. How different? Hard to say. But something would have definitely been different.

In the beginning of the book, Murakami says he isn’t writing this to inspire you to start running, but if it does inspire you then he’d be surprised and happy. It turns out that it did inspire me to get off my fatass and take a run around my neighborhood. I decided to make an exercise schedule, hopefully resulting in a good run every night and 30 sit-ups before bed. I haven’t run since and I think the sit-ups continued only another day or so. BUT I am trying my best. Hopefully over the summer I will be motivated to run again.

1 Comment

Filed under Please Wead

One response to “haruki murakami again

  1. iamjl

    i love his work.

Leave a Reply

