SD Food Adventures Part II

After dinner, a lot of our friends recommended Extraordinary Desserts, so we left La Jolla and headed towards downtown San Diego. It was worth it and I’d definitely go back. I’d even go so far as to say it was the highlight of my San Diego trip since the weather was gloomy and Balboa Park was disappointing. Anyway, here’s the dessert roundup…

lemonbar

Lemon bar: I don’t know why, but I always have to order a Lemon bar whenever I go to any bakery. I love lemon or lime-flavored desserts and most of the time they are really good. For Lemon bars however, I can’t say I’ve ever had a fantastic one. I gave this one a try and even though it looks amazing, it was just okay.

dulcedeleche

Dulce de Leche Cake: VERY good. Especially if you like chocolate. However, nothing we ordered topped the Berry Torte, below:

berrytorte

Fantastic. Not only do I love all the pink petals and frosting, but the cake is moist, the frosting is light and it definitely makes my top 3 best cakes I’ve ever had. (The other two being the Triple Berry cake from Sweet Lady Jane on Melrose and the Red Velvet cake from Susina Bakery in west LA). You have to order this if you go to Extraordinary Desserts, or at least one of their tortes if you don’t like berries.

Leave a comment

Filed under Scrumptious, Travels

Leave a Reply

